Jamaica 2015

Screen Shot 2015-11-12 at 10.10.05 PMI am visiting Jamaica between November 12, and 15th of 2015 to attend the Rastafari Rootzfest hosted by High Times, for the 2015 Jamaican World Cannabis Cup in Negril. I’m staying at the RIU Palace Tropical hotel, just down the road from the event. You can check out the photos here. I’m working on an academic article/ short video about cannabis tourism.

So far I flew in on Thursday to the airport in Montego Bay after traveling from Turks & Caicos Islands this morning, via Miami, and on to Jamaica. I took the shuttle van from the airport to Negril, some 90 minutes away. A great chance to take a breath and take in the views of the rural Jamaican countryside. Goats on the side of the road. During the drive, we stopped at this roadside stand to rest a moment and be lured by cheap souvenirs. My van-mates Rodney and Mike are also attending the event this weekend, so we chatted about it and bonded in our excitement. I made it to my fancy RIU hotel, after driving by the opening night of the “ganga festival” as the driver called it.There were event tents set up inside the park a few blocks large, surrounded by a fence, with a minimal of people there at this pre-event time. It was raining, and we had some delays in finding out hotels. Once I made it into my room and after eating the included food, I was content to relax in my room and rest up for the two days ahead of festivities where I hope to get some good pictures and video clips for my project.

